Remove estimating and re-estimating from Sprint Cancellation section
In the 3rd paragraph of the section "Cancelling a Sprint" is stated:
"When a Sprint is cancelled, any completed and “Done” Product Backlog items are reviewed. If part of the work is potentially releasable, the Product Owner typically accepts it. All incomplete Product Backlog Items are re-estimated and put back on the Product Backlog. The work done on them depreciates quickly and must be frequently re-estimated."
Estimating half complete work and putting it back on the backlog is a bad practice, which is seen in immature Scrum teams who struggle to complete items within the Sprint timebox. So let's not introduce it in the rare event a Sprint is cancelled. The very reason the Sprint is cancelled already makes it unlikely the items will ever be completed.
The second part of the paragraph then suggests these items should regularly be re-estimated because the estimates depreciate quickly.
Re-estimating items on the Product Backlog is a bad practice unless significant changes to the Backlog Item are introduced, so again let's not introduce this in the rare event a Sprint is cancelled.
2 commentsComments are closed
Srikanth Ramanujam commented
I agree. I don't understand why we need to re-estimate the partly completed items. If that is a practice that should apply to unfinished items in a Sprint as well before the items are returned to the Product Backlog and that would open a can of worms!
Erik Weber commented
I agree, this is oddly specific language, and too much explanation for a part of Scrum that rarely happens.